The Works of Samuel Johnson, Volume 10 - Samuel Johnson

The Works of Samuel Johnson, Volume 10

By Samuel Johnson

  • Release Date: 1784-01-01
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs


A full list of writings by Johnson with significant political content would include such pieces as his poem London, a number of his sermons, and essays in The Idler and elsewhere. This volume presents a collection of writings with a political emphasis which do not readily fall into one or another of these categories: his early anti-Walpolian pamphlets Marmor Norfolciense and A Complete Vindication of the Licensers of the Stage, and various journalistic squibs; a competent abridgment of the debate on the offer of the Crown to Oliver Cromwell; the long series of articles on the Seven Years’ War and related matters, such as the notorious trial and execution of Admiral Byng; the four pamphlets of the 1770s—The False Alarm, Thoughts on…Falkland’s Islands, The Patriot, and Taxation No Tyranny.